Understanding Uber Accident Claims
As much as you may depend on Uber to help you get around the Clearwater area at a reasonable cost, the risks are always there with the company’s drivers. While Uber continues to refine their vetting process, anything can happen; often, the result is an accident. Unfortunately, we’ve seen far too many ridesharing accidents occur in South Florida.
What makes the aftermath worse is dealing with insurance claims. Would you know what to do if you’re in an Uber accident and need to fill out a claim? You’ll want to know what to do, whether you’re an Uber driver, a passenger, or a pedestrian hit by one of their drivers.
Take a look at the procedures, and why dealing with insurance companies is a major burden without hiring a personal injury attorney.
How Insurance Works With Uber Accident Claims
When you sign up to become an Uber driver, they’re going to require you to have insurance. As part of the No-Fault law here in Florida, all drivers are required to have insurance for personal injury protection. These benefits are paid out, no matter who’s at fault. Keep in mind many well-known insurance companies don’t cover ridesharing, making it more limited in the choice of insurance you’ll need.
Going directly through Uber, you’re automatically covered for your liability to a third party if in an accident when you’re to blame. While coverage limits are going to vary, the general limits are:
- $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident for any bodily injury.
- $25,000 per accident for any property damage.
You may also get coverage through your own personal insurance, though only if you’re not at fault. Some states also offer driver injury protection that pays out substantial compensation, including disability, medical expenses, and survivor benefits. Of course, the no-fault requirements here in Florida make this an automatic requirement.
Starting Your Uber Accident Insurance Claim
To begin a claim, you’ll have to go on the website for Uber’s insurance company. James River Insurance is well-known for covering Uber in accidents. They note that all new claims require reporting via fax, email, or regular mail. This means you can’t make a claim by telephone if reporting for the first time.
First, you need to make a claim through the company’s online form. Different forms exist for various situations. For instance, a trip verification form is used to determine if a driver used the UberPartner application at the time of an accident. Other forms exist exclusively for an Uber driver, a passenger, and for reporting directly to Uber.
Many personal injury attorneys working with Uber accidents know how to deal with companies like James River Insurance. Nonetheless, you should know what to do in properly filling out the above claim forms.
Claims as an Uber Driver
Perhaps you’ve become injured in an accident as an Uber driver that you feel was the fault of someone else. Your way forward to make an insurance claim is to report it to the company first on their Trip and Fare Review page. A member of their staff typically reaches out after your report and sends you an Incident Report Form via email.
After you fill out the form, Uber sends this to their insurance company for review. The insurance company will contact you within a few days to let you know if they’ll cover your accident. Uber specifically notes that if any physical damage coverage is available, you’ll be responsible for a $1000 deductible. Also, note Uber may provide your insurance policy information to a third party if they need to file a claim regarding your accident.
Claims if Your Uber Car Is Damaged by a Rider
From the other side of things, perhaps one of the riders in your Uber vehicle caused damage to your car. Unfortunately, you have to take risks with the people you transport as well. If the above damage goes beyond the norm of wear and tear, Uber may pay you an inconvenience fee of up to $250. They also might be able to assist with insurance claims.
Before they can do anything, they’ll require you to submit a photo of the damage the rider made to your car. You also have to provide a description of what happened within three days after the trip occurred. In addition, you’ll need to submit a form indicating a repair estimate, or a receipt if the repair is already done. Uber expects you to turn this in within five days after the damage takes place.
Accident Claims if You’re Hit by an Uber Driver
Unfortunately, you’ll find a lot of gray areas when it comes to claims with Uber driver insurance. If you’re a pedestrian or driver whom an Uber driver injured, you’ll need to fill out online claim forms just like the others above. The problem is, a lot of wiggle room exists on liability through Uber. It all comes down to the divide between the driver’s personal insurance and the company’s insurance. Most likely, the driver’s personal insurance will deny your claim because the driver is working for hire.
Uber itself may cover your claim, though even they may turn you down. Providing proper evidence is everything, which is why hiring an experienced personal attorney in Uber accidents is so essential.
Seek an Experienced Florida Uber Accident Attorney
You’ll find plenty of personal injury firms here in the Clearwater area, though only a few are truly experienced in handling ridesharing accidents. At Dolman Law Group, we’re well-known for representing those involved in Uber accidents throughout South Florida. We can help clients navigate the claims process: never attempt to work with insurance companies by yourself. They’ll frequently try to settle with you early, often at a much lower amount, rather than pay you the compensation you truly deserve.
Contact us immediately if you’re in an Uber accident, or call us at (727) 451-6900. We can handle all communication with insurance companies so you can recover from your injuries in peace.
Dolman Law Group
800 North Belcher Road
Clearwater, FL 33765