Most personal injury attorneys, including all of the attorneys at the Dolman Law Group, work for what is called a contingency fee basis. This means that the attorneys will not receive any compensation for their services until a recovery is made on your behalf. Most personal injury attorney will not charge you a retainer to ensure their services, and will even advance the costs necessary in order to recover on your claim.
In Florida, there is a limit to how much an attorney can charge on a contingency fee basis. If the case recovers less than $1 million, fees are limited to 33.3% if the case is settled before a lawsuit is filed, and 40% after the suit is filed and answered by the defendant. As the value of your case goes up above $1 million, the percentage that the attorney may charge goes down. As a potential plaintiff, it is very important that you understand how your lawyer is going to charge you for his services. The Florida injury lawyers at the Dolman Law Group, will take the necessary time to ensure that you understand exactly how they will be paid, and how that payment will affect your recovery. And of course, every client will be given the personal cell phone number of his or her assigned attorney to ensure that all questions and concerns are addressed as quickly as possible.
Posted in: Understanding Your Personal Injury Case